Information City

A 11 track electro album (38m 27s) — released September 1st 2017 on Foul-Up

Last year it was estimated, that every minute 400 hours' worth of content was uploaded to YouTube, 2,430,555 posts were liked on Instagram, and 6,944,444 videos were watched on Snapchat. And these figures won't stay static. The amount of data we upload, and in turn the amount we consume every year, is growing exponentially. As this expanding data pool grows, making sense of it becomes concurrently more difficult; the distinctions between dream and reality, fact and fiction, truth and lie fade to obscurity.

'Information City', the sophomore album from Copenhagen's Tobias Hjørnet Pedersen aka Beastie Respond, attempts to reflect this world in a very direct sense. 'Information City' is the simulacrum in which we live and exist, where our cultural identities exist primarily as representations of a real without origin, he explains.

Writing the album Pedersen set no limits on his sample sources, instead taking fragments from a vast array of media, reflecting on the themes outlined above. This resulted in 'Information City 'being completely stylistically unchained, giving reference to everything from UK bass genres to electro, footwork and synthwave. 'Downloaded 4 R. D4wkins' for example pits Moving Shadow reminiscent rave stabs against juke-like percussive workouts, while opener 'Real Without Origin' recontextualises cliché trap-style drops with hollowed-out, swaggering low-end, calling to mind recent hybrids of UK Grime and American hip-hop.

At other points, Pedersen eschews the dancefloor entirely. Tracks like 'Lullabies for the Lost and Forgotten' or 'He Used His Bench Lathe to Form His Wooden Sculpture' provide respite from the thunderous barrages of percussion with slurred melodies and dream-like anime soundscapes.

Comprising the fourth release from Foul-Up, 'Information City' is a brave proposition for a second album. Pedersen tackles it with vibrance and audacity, inviting us into a fast-paced world of bright lights and unbridled imagination.

Very well produced, fresh stuff. Thanks! - Anastasia Kristensen

Really interesting stuff. A1 and B4 are my picks on first listen. And B3 is a great track title! - Eomac

Sounds fantastic! ‘We Never Truly Understood the Architecture’ is working for me right now. - Galaxian

Cool stuff, thanks. - Happa

HEAVY STUFF. - Severin Lyra Valenza

Great work. - Loxy

Really enjoying this. - Mumdance

This is excellent. - Om Unit

Some great, fun stuff here - many thanks. - Pangaea

Amazingly crafted! Rolls as well ;) - Rivet

  • Kudos happily ship all items worldwide.
  • Shipping costs and delivery times are available here.
  • UK items are sent tracked as standard at no extra cost.
  • We aim to dispatch orders placed before 2pm on the same day.
  • We are unable to ship orders on weekends or Bank Holidays.
  • If you purchase a pre-order item amongst an order of in-stock releases, we will typically hold your order until all items are in ready to send.
  • Although we use all reasonable means to ensure that your order is delivered within a specified time, we cannot accept any responsibility for late deliveries due to circumstances outside of our control. We will do our best to inform you of any unexpected delay.